Study explained

Kangan Institute's accredited courses are nationally recognised under the Australian Qualifications Framework.

What is the Australian Qualifications Framework?

The Australian Qualifications Framework (commonly known as the AQF) is a unified system of twelve national qualifications in schools, vocational education and training - TAFEs and other Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) - and the higher education sector, mainly universities. It allows for an accredited qualification gained in any state or territory of Australia to be recognised across the whole country.

The accredited qualifications offered by TAFE are:

  • Senior Secondary Certificate of Education (VCAL in Victoria)
  • Certificate I
  • Certificate II
  • Certificate III
  • Certificate IV
  • Diploma
  • Advanced Diploma

Flexible Education and Training Pathways

AQF qualifications link with each other to give you a range of learning pathways between schools, vocational education and training providers and universities, as your learning and career ambitions require. They include:

  • VET in Schools, which allows schools across the country to offer industry based units of learning than can contribute to both the Senior Secondary Certificate of Education and Certificate I - IV qualifications;
  • Articulation and Credit Transfer Arrangements between registered vocational education and training providers and universities involving efficient articulation of programs and maximum credit transfer.
  • Skills Recognition, by which credits may be granted towards qualification after assessment of the knowledge and skills you have gained through work, training and life experience.

Senior Secondary Certificate of Education ( VCE and VCAL in Victoria)

There are two senior secondary education certificates in Victoria, and students may choose to do either. The VCE is the choice for those wishing to continue on to University, while VCAL is a more 'hands-on" option, for those intending to do further VE&T study or enter the workforce. As part of both VCE and VCAL courses, students may include VE&T units from accredited TAFE courses, while VCAL students may also include some VCE units in their course.

The Senior Secondary Certificate of Education (SSCE) prepares students to enter:

  • university (VCE)
  • TAFE institutions and other formal training programs (VCE & VCAL)
  • the workplace (VCE & VCAL); and
  • other life roles (VCE & VCAL)

The Senior Secondary Certificate of Education (SSCE) may be gained most commonly through two years full time study following completion of Year 10, but may also be gained by mature aged students through recognition of prior learning in combination with an accredited course, and on a part-time basis; and in conjunction with a TAFE or other workplace program and may incorporate units leading to accredited Certificates I-IV qualifications. For further information on both VCE and VCAL, go to:

The SSCE is referred to at a State and Territory level as follows:

  • VIC Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE and VCAL)
  • NSW Higher Education Certificate (HSC)
  • QLD Senior Certificate
  • SA South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE)
  • WA WA Certificate of Education
  • TAS Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE)
  • NT Northern Territory Certificate of Education (NTCE)
  • ACT ACT Year 12 Certificate